Magical MVG triumphs once more

Friday was third of five successive days of competition at Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes

By Brian Barry

Last Updated: 10/07/20 5:55pm

MVG is at his brilliant best in Milton Keynes this week ahead of the Matchplay

MVG is at his brilliant best in Milton Keynes this week ahead of the Matchplay

MVG is at his brilliant best in Milton Keynes this week ahead of the Matchplay

Michael van Gerwen has continued his blistering start to post-lockdown darts, as he won his second Players Championship event in the space of three days.

The Green Machine has roared into life, after almost four months away from the limelight after he declined an invitation to compete on the PDC Home Tour.

The world No 1 backed up Wednesday’s victory with an awesome procession to the title by beating Alan Tabern, Kim Huybrechts, Robert Collins, James Wade, Chris Dobey, Jeff Smith and Jose De Sousa.

‘The Special One’ produced awesome performances throughout the day, posting averages of 109.3, 94.7, 107.4, 105.9, 102.1, and 105.7 en route to the decider.

And it looked like he was going to cap an impressive day’s work when he took a 2-0 lead in the final. However, MVG found his groove and rattled off six consecutive legs to take control of the tie, eventually winning 8-3 with a 102.5 average.

The win sees him make amends for his shock defeat to Maik Kuivenhoven in the last 32 on Thursday.

Follow Sky Sports Darts on Twitter!

Stay up-to-date with the latest news from around the darting world.

It was the third day after the sport’s resumption, after Ryan Joyce shocked Dave Chisnall in Thursday’s final.

One of the stories of the day was the performances of Canadian star Jeff Smith. ‘The Silencer’ embarked on a giant-killing run, accounting for Nathan Aspinall and Peter Wright en route to the semi-final. However, he eventual crashed out when he met MVG in the penultimate stage.

Download the Darts Show Podcast on: Spotify | Apple | Castbox | Spreaker

There were some early upsets on Friday, with Premier League leader Glen Durrant losing to Gavin Carlin, Gary Anderson falling to Ryan Murray, and Rob Cross defeated by Mickey Mansell.

Not for the first time this week, world number three Gerwyn Price started at a searing pace, only to run out of steam. The Iceman overcame Luke Humphries and Martin Atkins without dropping a single leg, before dispatching of Ryan Searle with a 103.4 average. However, he was unable to sustain those levels, as he fell to the impressive De Sousa in the last 16.

Summer Series 3 – Last 16 Results

Last 16 Jose De Sousa 6-3 Gerwyn Price
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Ryan Murray
Daryl Gurney 6-1 Ryan Meikle
Ian White 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Peter Wright 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Jeff Smith 6-1 Mike De Decker
Chris Dobey 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 James Wade
Quarter-Finals Jose De Sousa 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Daryl Gurney 6-0 Ian White
Jeff Smith 6-3 Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Chris Dobey
Semi-Finals Jose De Sousa 7-3 Daryl Gurney
Michael van Gerwen 7-4 Jeff Smith
Final Michael van Gerwen 8-3 Jose De Sousa

The action continues on Saturday, with the fourth of the five consecutive Players Championship events that signal the resumption in play.

Darts is back on Sky Sports in July, with nine days of coverage from the World Matchplay getting underway on Saturday, July 18, and every day until the final on Sunday, July 26.

Leave a Reply